Prologue

I dreamed I was in Taveye again, and it was about to start raining. It always is, and always, just before the first drop hits my skin, I wake up. I get out of bed, turn on the light, and look at the drawings. During the day, I keep them in a box, and sometimes I consider throwing them out. But in the dark hours of the night, when I’ve been dreaming, I look at them, and for some reason, I find them reassuring. I don’t know if I’m reassuring myself that it all really happened, or simply that it’s over. There are a lot of things I don’t know. But I will take comfort in anything, if it helps me sleep at night.

Leave a Reply

